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STATE OF FLORIDA APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE AS AN 

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPIST  OR  OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY ASSISTANT 
 

PLEASE KEEP THESE INSTRUCTIONS AND A COPY OF YOUR COMPLETED APPLICATION FOR FUTURE 
REFERENCE OR FOR COPYING IN THE EVENT AN APPLICATION IS LOST IN THE MAIL. 

 

 
Florida provides methods of application which streamline the process for licensure. Eligibility 

requirements are provided below and checklists for applying are also enclosed in this packet to 

assist you with obtaining licensure in the most efficient manner possible. 

 
LICENSURE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

 

 Is of good moral character. 
 Graduated from an accredited OTA or OT program (accredited by the AOTA). 
 Completed a period of supervised fieldwork experience at a recognized educational institution or a 

training program approved by the education institution where you met the academic requirements. 
An occupational therapy assistant must have a minimum of 2 months supervised fieldwork 
experience. An occupational therapist must have a minimum of 6 months supervised fieldwork 
experience. 

 Passed an examination conducted or adopted by the National Board of Certification for 
Occupational Therapy (NBCOT). 

 
STATUTE & RULE REFERENCES 

 

Specific licensure requirements can be found in Chapter 468, Part III, Florida Statutes and Chapter 
64B11, Florida Administrative Code. Applicants and licensees should also be familiar with the 
requirements of Chapter 456, Florida Statutes. Laws and rules are subject to change and are 
periodically updated. It is your professional responsibility to read and understand the instructions and 
the laws and rules governing the practice of occupational therapy in Florida before completing your 
application. If another party is handling your application for you, it is still your responsibility to read, 
understand, and comply with all requirements for licensure. The current laws and rules may be 
accessed at the Board website at this link: http://www.floridasoccupationaltherapy.gov/resources . 

 

APPLICATION   FEES 
$180 TOTAL 

($100 application processing fee; $75 initial licensure fee; and $5 unlicensed activity fee.) 
 

 All fees are payable by personal or company check, certified check or money order. Make payable 
to DOH/Board of Occupational Therapy Practice and attach to the front of your application. 

 Applications will be returned unprocessed when received without the $180 fee. 
 The application processing fee is non-refundable. If requested in writing, the $80 licensure and 

unlicensed activity fee may be refunded if your application is withdrawn and/or a license is not 
issued. 

 Examination Fee: For new graduates, there are separate examination and registration fees payable 
to the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT). Contact the NBCOT at 
(301) 990-7979 for more information. 
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NEW  GRADUATES 
 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS & CHECKLIST 
 

# 1. BEFORE you submit this state licensure application, apply to the National Board for 
Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) to schedule the examination required 
for licensure. Visit: www.nbcot.org or call: (301) 990-7979. 

 
 

# 2. AFTER you have passed the examination, you are READY to apply for your State of 
Florida license. Apply online at http://floridasoccupationaltherapy.gov/ for a streamlined 
process or submit the paper application. After successfully completing the exam, you may 
select the “ENDORSEMENT” application method. 

 
# 3. Once we determine that your application is COMPLETE and we are able to verify your 

passage of the examination, and all other relevant items are acceptable, your license 
will be issued. 

 

 
APPLICATION  CHECKLIST 

 

 
 REGISTER FOR THE NBCOT EXAM 

Once you have completed the registration process for the exam, you will receive an exam eligibility, Authorization To Test (ATT) 
letter from NBCOT with instructions to contact the testing vendor and schedule your specific examination date. 

 SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETE THE NBCOT EXAMINATION REQUIREMENT 
Once you have passed the examination, provide a correct NBCOT certification number on your application and board staff will 
attempt to verify your certification online. If verification is unavailable, you will be required to request a certification letter to be sent 
directly from the NBCOT to the Florida Board. 

 APPLY* ONLINE AT http://floridasoccupationaltherapy.gov/ or SUBMIT APPLICATION FORM: 
All questions answered. If a question is not applicable, mark "N/A." Sign and date the application. 

 FEES: $180 
Submit this fee along with your application. Paper applications should be accompanied by payment in the form of a cashier's check 
or money order payable 
 

*IMPORTANT TIPS REGARDING SUBMISSION OF APPLICATION  
A permanent license cannot be issued without a Social Security Number (SSN). Whether you are submitting the online 

application, or this paper application, please enter the SSN where requested. 
If not provided, the licensure process will be delayed until received. 

 
If completing the application online, you will be unable to correct, revise or change the application once submitted. Applicants may login 
to their online MQA Services account to upload documents and any outstanding fees may be submitted under “Additional Activities” in 

the applicant’s online dashboard. If any difficulty is experienced, applicants may communicate with the Board Office via e-mail to 
mqa.occupationaltherapy@flhealth.gov. Include your name as indicated on the application, file number and/or last four (4) of your SSN 

with any correspondence sent to the Board via e-mail. 
 

Send Application and Fees by Mail to: 
DEPT of Health/Board of Occupational Therapy Practice  

P.O. Box 6330 
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330 

 

Any Follow-Up Supporting Documentation may be sent 
by E-Mail to mqa.occupationaltherapy@flhealth.gov or 

Mail to: 
DEPT of Health/Board of Occupational Therapy Practice  

4052 Bald Cypress Way 
BIN #C-05, Tallahassee, FL 32399-3255 

 
****REMEMBER**** 

YOU MUST NOT START WORKING IN FLORIDA UNTIL YOU HAVE RECEIVED YOUR PERMANENT 
LICENSE FROM THE STATE OF FLORIDA BOARD OFFICE. 
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NBCOT  CERTIFIED APPLICANTS 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS & CHECKLIST 
# 1. If you have ever been certified by the NBCOT, you are READY to apply for your State of Florida 

license! Apply online at http://floridasoccupationaltherapy.gov/ for a streamlined process or 
submit the paper application. 

 If your NBCOT Certification is CURRENT, select the “ENDORSEMENT” application method. 

 If your NBCOT Certification is NOT CURRENT, but you have at least one active license in 
another state or jurisdiction, you may select the “EXAM w/WAIVER” option. 
 

# 2. Licensure Verifications: On Question 7 of the application form be sure to list ALL licenses or certificates 
held as an occupational therapist, occupational therapy assistant or in other health-related professions in any 
state, U.S. territory, including Florida or a foreign country. Copies of licenses are not acceptable. Board staff 
will attempt to complete verifications online for those states that include disciplinary history.  If the disciplinary 
information is not available online, you may be required to request an official verification of licensure from the 
applicable state licensing board and pay any associated fees required by that state. Note: NBCOT maintains 
a list of all state regulatory entities with contact names, numbers, websites, and addresses on their website 
at www.nbcot.org. 

 

#3. Once we verify that your application is COMPLETE and are able to verify your NBCOT certification, 
and all other relevant items are acceptable, your license will be issued. 

 
APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

 

 Practice Reentry Requirements: Have you been out of active practice in the last 5 years? If so, you 
will need to submit proof of completion of 50 hours of approved continuing education courses before a license may be issued.  
Twelve (12) of the 50 hours may be home study. All courses must be taken within the year prior to licensure. To find Board-  
approved CE courses on a variety of profession-related subjects, use the “Course Search” function at: www.CEBroker.com. Once you 
have completed the required continuing education, compile your course completion certificates and send in with your application. 
Note: This requirement only applies to persons who have held an OT or OTA license, had a break in active practice, and are now 
ready to reenter the profession. 

 APPLY* ONLINE AT http://floridasoccupationaltherapy.gov/ or SUBMIT APPLICATION FORM: 
All questions answered. If a question is not applicable, mark "N/A." Sign and date the application. 

 FEES: $180 
Submit this fee along with your application. Paper applications should be accompanied by payment in the form of a cashier's check 
or money order payable 

 Endorsement of Current NBCOT Certification Applicants: Provide a correct NBCOT certification number on 
your application and board staff will attempt to verify your certification online. If verification is unavailable, you will be required to 
request a certification letter to be sent directly from NBCOT to the Florida Board. 

 Exam with Waiver of Current NBCOT Certification Applicants: If you were once certified with the      
NBCOT, but have not maintained the certification, but hold at least one license in another state or jurisdiction, you may apply by this 
method. Provide a correct NBCOT certification number on your application and board staff will attempt to verify your certification 
online. If verification is unavailable, you will be required to request a certification letter to be sent directly from NBCOT to the Florida 
Board. 

 

*IMPORTANT TIPS REGARDING SUBMISSION OF APPLICATION  
A permanent license cannot be issued without a Social Security Number (SSN). Whether you are submitting the online 

application, or this paper application, please enter the SSN where requested.   
If not provided, the licensure process will be delayed until received. 

 
If completing the application online, you will be unable to correct, revise or change the application once submitted. Applicants 

may login to their online MQA Services account to upload documents and any outstanding fees may be submitted under 
“Additional Activities” in the applicant’s online dashboard. If any difficulty is experienced, applicants may communicate with the 
Board Office via e-mail to mqa.occupationaltherapy@flhealth.gov. Include your name as indicated on the application, file number 

and/or last four (4) of your SSN with any correspondence sent to the Board via e-mail. 
 

Send Application and Fees by Mail to: 
DEPT of Health/Board of Occupational Therapy Practice  

P.O. Box 6330 
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330 

 

Any Follow-Up Supporting Documentation may be sent by E-Mail to  
mqa.occupationaltherapy@flhealth.gov or mail to: 

DEPT of Health/Board of Occupational Therapy Practice  
4052 Bald Cypress Way 

BIN #C-05, Tallahassee, FL 32399-3255 
 

****REMEMBER**** 
YOU MUST NOT START WORKING IN FLORIDA UNTIL YOU HAVE RECEIVED YOUR PERMANENT LICENSE  FROM 

THE STATE OF FLORIDA BOARD OFFICE. 
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 DH-MQA 1152, Rule 64B11-2.003, F.A.C., (Revised 2/19) 
 

              
 

CONFIDENTIAL AND EXEMPT FROM PUBLIC RECORDS 
DISCLOSURE* 

 

Florida Department of Health 
Occupational Therapy Board 

 

Name:        
Last First Middle 

 

Social Security Number:     
 

* This page is exempt from public records disclosure. The Department of Health is required and authorized to collect Social Security 
Numbers relating to applications for professional licensure pursuant to Title 42 USC § 666 (a)(13). For all professions regulated under 
chapter 456, Florida Statutes, the collection of Social Security Numbers is required by section 456.013 (1)(a), Florida Statutes. 
 

You must answer all of the following questions. If you answer “yes”, you must explain in detail on a separate sheet. In your explanation, 
include date(s), location(s), specific circumstances, practitioners and/or treatment involved, etc. Your “yes” answers must be 
substantiated by either official documents sent directly to us from the respective state licensing board, official copies of court records 
from the clerk of the court, or letters from treating physicians/practitioners. You must ensure that we receive the documents that 
substantiate your “yes” answers. Your “yes” answer would not be an automatic cause for denial.  
 

NOTE: Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by bribery, fraud, or knowing misrepresentation is a violation of the Occupational 
Therapy Practice Act and may result in the denial of licensure, suspension or revocation of license, and/or other penalty under Section 468, 
Part III, Florida Statutes, Chapter 456, Florida Statutes, or Rule Chapter 64B11, Florida Administrative Code. 

 
1.  PERSONAL HISTORY 

 

A. Do you have any condition that currently impairs your ability to practice your profession with 
reasonable skill and safety?   

 

 YES  NO 

B. Are you using medications, other drugs, narcotics, or intoxicating chemicals that impair your ability to 
practice your profession with reasonable skill and safety?   

 

 YES  NO 

If you answered "yes" to either of the above questions, please provide a letter from a licensed health care practitioner, who is 
qualified by skill and training to address your condition, which explains the impact your condition may have on your ability to 
practice your profession with reasonable skill and safety, and stating either that you are safe to practice your profession without 
restriction or indicating what restrictions are necessary. If necessary, you may attach additional sheets. Documentation must 
be current within the last year. If you fail to disclose the information requested in this section, your application may be denied.          
 

 
 

Mission Statement: 
“To protect, promote and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county & community efforts.” 

4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN #C-05 Tallahassee, FL 32399-3255 
Phone: (850) 245-4373 

Fax: (850) 414-6860 

Website: http://floridasoccupationaltherapy.gov/ 
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Florida Department of Health 
Occupational Therapy Board 

 

Mailing Address for Application and Fees 
P.O. Box 6330 
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330 
Mailing Address for Supporting Documents 
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-05 
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3255 
(850) 245-4373 ▪ Fax: (850) 414-6860 

 

 
 
 
 

- Do Not Write In This Space - 
(Client 5601/OT/$180)   

(Client 5602/OTA/$180) 

 

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY APPLICATION 
Applications are good for one year from date of original submission of the application and fee; application fees are non-refundable. Failure 
to complete this entire application, or to attach any required documentation, will result in an incomplete application; your application will not 
be considered until it is complete. Please type, or print in blue or black ink. 

 
2. APPLICATION TYPE CHECK ONLY ONE FROM “A” AND “B” 
A. APPLICATION 

Occupational Therapy: $180 total ($100 application fee; $75 licensure fee; $5 unlicensed activity fee) 

Occupational Therapy Assistant: $180 total ($100 application fee; $75 licensure fee; $5 unlicensed activity fee) 
 

B. METHOD (Must check one. See instructions for eligibility requirements.) 

Endorsement: Holds an ACTIVE NBCOT Certification (XACT 1021) 

Exam W/Waiver: Holds an INACTIVE/Non-Renewed NBCOT Certification AND an ACTIVE OT or OTA license in another state.  
       (XACT 1024: no temp; XACT: temp) 

Examination: Has scheduled the NBCOT exam (XACT 1010)  Scheduled Examination Date: _____/_____ /_____     Submit official proof of  

      scheduled NBCOT exam date to mqa.occupationaltherapy.gov. 

***Recommended: For most efficient licensure process, complete the NBCOT exam first & then apply by Endorsement. *** 

3. PROFILE INFORMATION   LIST YOUR FULL, LEGAL NAME AS IT SHOULD APPEAR ON YOUR LICENSE (NO NICKNAMES) 
 
NAME: (Last)______________________________________(First) _____________________________(Middle) _____ 
List all names by which you are currently known or have been known in the past: 

 

DATE OF BIRTH ____/____/_____ 
 

MAILING ADDRESS: (Apt. #) _______ 
(Mailing address will display on the Internet if you have not provided a practice location address.) 

 

City: ________________________________State: ________________Zip: Country: ________________ 
 
PRACTICE NAME: ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Address:  Suite:    

City: _________________________________State: Zip: ___  

(Required, if not applicable at time of application, please indicate with “N/A.” The practice location will display on the internet and your license.) 

WORK NUMBER: ( ) _ -      HOME NUMBER: ( __) _-   

FAX NUMBER: (______)  -_ _ MOBILE NUMBER: (_____) _-  __ 

CORRESPONDENCE VIA E-MAIL*: Please print legibly. By checking “yes” you are agreeing to allow the board office to contact you with information regarding your 
application via email. If you choose this option, please check your email account frequently and notify the board office of any change to your email address. 
 

YES  NO   E-MAIL ADDRESS: _________________________________________@___________________________________ 

 
4. EQUAL OPPORTUNITY 
We are required to ask that you furnish the following information as part of your voluntary compliance with Section 60–3, Uniform Guidelines on Employee 
Selection Procedure (1978); 43 FR 38295 (August 25, 1978). This information is gathered for statistical and reporting purposes only and does not in any 
way affect your candidacy for licensure. 
Are you a US citizen? □ YES □ NO   If “no,” give your alien number:  SEX: □ Male □ Female 
RACE:  □ White □ Black □ Asian/Pacific Islander □ Hispanic □ Other:    

             *Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity.  Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.
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5. EDUCATION HISTORY 

Name of School, College, or University:  

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Graduation Date: _/ _/ Degree Obtained: ________________________________________________________ 
 

What name(s) did you use when you received your occupational therapy education? 

 

 
7. APPLICANT BACKGROUND… ATTACH ADDITIONAL SHEETS IF NECESSARY 

a. Have you ever applied for Occupational Therapist or Occupational Therapy Assistant 
licensure in the state of Florida? 

b. If “Yes”, please indicate the date you previously applied: / _/   

YES NO 

c. Do you now or have you ever held a temporary permit, license/certification, or other 
authorization, regardless of status, to practice Occupational Therapy or any health-related profession in 
any state (including Florida), U.S. territory or foreign country? 

 
YES NO 

State License Title License Number Original Issue Date Expiration Date License Status 

      

      

      

      

      

      

 

8. APPLICANT SEEKING REENTRY INTO THE PROFESSION 

Rule 64B11-2.012, F.A.C., requires an applicant seeking reentry into the profession, who has not been in active 
practice within the last five years, to submit to the Board, documentation of 50 occupational therapy continuing 
education units, 12 of which may be home study, taken within the year prior to licensure. 

Have you been in active practice within the last five years? 

Note: This requirement only applies to persons who have held an OT or OTA license, had a break in active practice, and are now 
ready to reenter the profession. 

 

YES NO 
 
Not applicable, 
I am a new 
graduate. 

 

 

6. CERTIFICATION HISTORY… ATTACH ADDITIONAL SHEETS IF NECESSARY 

  Have you taken the NBCOT (formerly AOTA or AOTCB) exam? YES NO 
 
  If yes, please provide your NBCOT Certification Number*:_______________________ 

*If uncertain, please verify your NBCOT certification number at www.nbcot.org. 

 
If no, please contact the NBCOT at (301) 990-7979 to schedule and complete the examination requirement. A license cannot be issued 
until the NBCOT examination has been passed. 
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ALL APPLICANTS 
Answer questions in (9) Criminal History and (10) Disciplinary History with a “YES" OR "NO" - do not leave any blanks. Written statement(s) to all “YES” 
answers in sections 9 and 10 are required and must explain in detail the circumstances and dates surrounding the answer(s). In addition to the 
statement(s) you must submit supporting documentation to verify and support “YES” answers, including court documents, arrest records, sentencing 
information, final disposition(s), restitution records, completion of probation and/or conditions, medical records, diagnosis, prescription medications for 
conditions and/or impairments, evaluation letter(s) from treating physicians and/or institutions, board orders, disciplinary reports, employment records 
and/or employment verifications, employer and/or colleague recommendation letters, etc. See application instructions for additional information 
regarding “YES” answers on this page. 
 

9. CRIMINAL HISTORY 
Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest to, a crime in any 

jurisdiction other than a minor traffic offense? You must include all misdemeanors and felonies, even if the court 

withheld adjudication so that you would not have a record of conviction. Driving under the influence or driving 

while impaired is not a minor traffic offense for the purposes of this question. Note: The subject of a criminal 

history record sealed under Section 943.059, F.S., or expunged under Section 943.0585, F.S., or under other 

provisions of law, including former s. 893.14, former s. 901.33, and former s. 943.058, may lawfully deny or fail 

to acknowledge the arrests covered by the sealed or expunged record, EXCEPT when the subject of the record 

is seeking to be licensed by the Department of Health and other entities identified in Section 943.059(4)(a) 5., 

F.S., and Section 943.0585(4)(a) 5., F.S.                                                                

YES NO 

 
If YES, please explain: 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

10. DISCIPLINARY HISTORY 
A. Have you ever had a license revoked, suspended, or otherwise acted against, including denial of 

licensure, by the licensing authority of this state or another state, territory, or country?

  

YES NO 

B. Have you ever been found guilty of malpractice?                                                                          

 
YES NO 

C. Have you ever been disciplined, terminated, or allowed to resign, in lieu of termination, from an 

employment setting where employed as an Occupational Therapist or Occupational Therapist 

Assistant or in any capacity in a health care profession? 

 

YES NO 

D. Have you ever been convicted or found guilty, regardless of adjudication, of a crime in any 

jurisdiction which directly relates to the practice of Occupational Therapy? 

 

YES NO 

E. Are you now under investigation in any jurisdiction for an offense, which would be a violation of 

Chapters 456 or 468, Part III, Florida Statutes or Rule Chapter 64B11, Florida Administrative Code? 

 

YES NO 

Note: If you answered “YES” to any of the above questions, please send a typed or printed description of the discipline. You must 
contact the board(s) in the states you were disciplined and request official copies of the administrative complaint and final order be 
sent directly to the Board office. See application instructions for additional information regarding “yes” answers on this page. 
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HISTORY PURSUANT TO SECTION 456.0635(2) F.S. 

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Applicants for licensure, certification or registration and candidates for examination may be 
excluded from licensure, certification or registration if their felony conviction falls into certain timeframes as established in 
Section 456.0635(2), Florida Statutes. If you answer “YES” to any of the following questions, please provide a written 
explanation for each question including the county and state of each termination or conviction, date of each termination or 
conviction, and copies of supporting documentation to the address below. Supporting documentation includes court 
dispositions or agency orders where applicable. 

11. Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of 
adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S. (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, 
F.S. (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S. (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a 
similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction? (If you responded “No”, skip to #12 and do not 
answer questions a.-d. below.) 

 

 
Yes No 
 
 
 

a. If “yes” to 1, for the felonies of the first or second degree, has it been more than 15 years 
from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation? 

 
Yes No 

b. If “yes” to 1, for the felonies of the third degree, has it been more than 10 years from the date of 
the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation? (This question does not apply to 
felonies of the third degree under Section 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes). 

 

 
Yes No 

c. If “yes” to 1, for the felonies of the third degree under Section 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes, 
has it been more than 5 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any 
subsequent probation? 

 

 
Yes No 

d. If “yes” to 1, have you successfully completed a drug court program that resulted in the plea 
for the felony offense being withdrawn or the charges dismissed? (If “yes”, please provide 
supporting documentation). 

 
Yes No 

12. Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of 
adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-
1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues)? (If you responded “No”, skip to 
#13 and do not answer question a. below.) 

 
 

Yes No 

a. If “yes” to 2, has it been more than 15 years before the date of application since the sentence 
and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended? 

 

Yes No 

13. Have you ever been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid Program pursuant to Section 
409.913, Florida Statutes? (If you responded “No”, skip to #14 and do not answer question a. below.) 

 
Yes No 

a. If you have been terminated but reinstated, have you been in good standing with the Florida 
Medicaid Program for the most recent five years? 

 
Yes No 

14. Have you ever been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the 
state, from any other state Medicaid program? (If you responded “No”, skip to #15 and do not answer 
questions a.-b. below.) 

 
Yes No 

a. Have you been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five 
years? 

 
Yes No 

b. Did the termination occur at least 20 years before the date of this application?  

Yes No 

15. Are you currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of 
Inspector General's List of Excluded Individuals and Entities? 

 
Yes No 
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16. PRACTITIONER REGISTRY FOR DISASTERS AND EMERGENCIES (Section 456.38, Florida Statutes) 

Section 456.38, Florida Statutes, Practitioner Registry for Disasters and Emergencies Will you be available to provide 

health care services in special needs shelters or to help staff disaster medical assistance teams during times of emergency 

or major disaster?           YES NO 

 
17. REQUEST FOR TEMPORARY PERMIT (OPTIONAL) 

Temporary permits allow an applicant to work under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist while waiting to 

take the examination and receive successful scores for full licensure. A temporary permit cannot be extended or renewed. 

If you have previously failed the NBCOT examination, you are ineligible for a temporary permit. Additionally, the Board may 

choose to not issue a temporary permit for any applicant they deem ineligible.  
 

An individual who has been issued a temporary permit and receives notification of failing the examination shall not continue 

to practice occupational therapy under his or her temporary permit. Likewise, the permit will be revoked upon notification to 

the Board of the examination results. A temporary permit is revoked if the applicant fails to have the NBCOT send his or 

her successful scores to the Board office within 12 months from the date of the approval of the Board. 
 

If you are applying by examination, and are requesting a temporary permit you must provide proof of a scheduled 

examination date for the applicable NBCOT examination which contains your Confirmation of Appointment number; proof 

of requesting NBCOT score transmittal to Florida and the name of your supervisor and employer. Please contact the 

NBCOT AT 301-990-7979 to apply for the examination prior to requesting a permit. A temporary permit will not be issued 

until official exam date confirmation is provided to the Florida Board office and verified with the examination vendor. You 

may e-mail confirmation to mqa.occupationaltherapy@flhealth.gov or fax to (850) 414-6860 or mail to the Board Office at 

the address provided on the first page of the application form. 

TEMPORARY PERMIT: �YES �NO  

If yes, please carefully note all of the requirements above. In addition, please provide below your supervisor’s contact 

information, as well as information on the entity for whom you intend to be employed if granted a permit. 

Name of Florida-Licensed OT Supervisor: ___________________________________________________________ 

Supervisor’s E-Mail Address: _____________________________________________________________________ 

Supervisor’s Phone Number: __________________________________________ 

 

Supervisor’s License 
Number: 

Supervisor’s Employment Organization and MAILING 
Address (street address, city, state, ZIP): 

 

 

Temporary Permit Holder’s Employment Organization 
PRACTICE Address (street address, city, state, ZIP): 

 

 

 

18. STATEMENT OF APPLICANT 

I declare these statements are true and correct and recognize that providing false information may result in disciplinary 
action against my license or criminal penalties pursuant to Sections 456.067, 775.083 and 775.084, Florida Statutes. 
 

I hereby authorize all hospital(s), institution(s) or organization(s), personal physicians, employers (past and present), and all 
governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign), to release to the Florida Board of Occupational 
Therapy Practice any information which is material to my application for licensure. 
 

I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without reservations of 
any kind. Should I furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for 
denial, suspension, or revocation of my license to practice as an Occupational Therapist/Assistant in the State of Florida. 
 

I further state that I have read and understand Chapter 468, Part III Florida Statutes, and Chapter 64B11, Florida 
Administrative Code, pertaining to the Occupational Therapy/Assistant Practice Act. I further state that I will comply with all 
requirements for licensure renewal, including continuing education credits. 
 
_________________________________________________       _____/_____/_______  
Signature of Applicant (required)                                                     Date Signed (required)  



 

 

 
Mission: 
To protect, promote & improve the health 
of all people in Florida through integrated 
state, county & community efforts. 

 

Vision: To be the Healthiest State in the Nation 

 
Ron DeSantis 

Governor 
 

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY PRACTICE 

 
LICENSE VERIFICATION FORM 

 

PART I: TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT: Complete this section and submit a copy to each state or licensure 
jurisdiction where you hold or have ever held a license to practice occupational therapy. Make copies as necessary. 

 
APPLICANT NAME SS# D.O.B.    

 

ADDRESS    
 

LICENSE NUMBER STATE OF    
 

I hereby authorize release of information regarding my licensure status to the Florida Board of Occupational Therapy 
Practice. 

 
APPLICANT SIGNATURE DATE    

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

PART II: TO BE COMPLETED BY AN OFFICIAL OF STATE LICENSURE BOARD: Please complete this part and return this 
form to the address listed below. 

 
APPLICANT NAME: STATE OF:    

 

LICENSE NUMBER: ISSUE DATE:    
 

LICENSE BASED ON: STATE  EXAM    
 

RECIPROCITY     WITH    

NATIONAL EXAM    

ENDORSEMENT     

EXPIRATION DATE:    
 

IS LICENSE IN GOOD STANDING?    
 

HAS THE LICENSE EVER BEEN REVOKED OR SUSPENDED?    
 

IS THERE ANY DEROGATORY INFORMATION?    
 

VERIFIED BY:    
Signature of Official / Date 

 

BOARD SEAL 
 

 
Official’s Printed Name / Title 

 
Florida Department of Health / Board of Occupational Therapy Practice 

Division of Medical Quality Assurance • Bureau of Health Care Practitioner Regulation 
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-05 • Tallahassee, FL 32399-3255 

PHONE: 850/245-4373 • FAX 850/414-6860 - http://www.FloridasHealth.gov 
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