Applicants cannot correct, add or change an application once submitted. You can login to your account (at MQA’s Online Services Licensee Resource page at: www.flhealthsource.gov) and upload documents, add money (under “Other Options”), and view the status of your application (which does not change until an application processor reviews and updates the file.
To address an application deficiency or error in your application, you may send an email to the Board email address at: firstname.lastname@example.org or reply directly to your application processor’s email. PLEASE always include your complete name as entered on your application, your application File# and/or last 4 digits of your social security number with all correspondence. (Note: A license will not be issued without a social security number included in your application). If you did not include your social security number on your application, this will be an application deficiency. Please send your social security number by upload, email or fax to: (850)414-6860 to avoid a delay in your licensure processing.
To pay the required fees online, you may login in to your MQA Online Services Portal account at: www.flhealthsource.gov and follow the steps below:
1). Go to Make Payment under the “Additional Activities” section.
2). Select the application that is pending payment of required fees.
3). Follow the prompts to submit payment by credit card.
If you are choose to pay by cashier’s check or money order please print your application summary; Make payment payable to DOH/Board of Occupational Therapy (include file# on your payment) and mail to:
DOH/Division of Medical Quality Assurance Board of Occupational Therapy Practice
PO Box 6320
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6320
If you have used an “Other Payer Code,” Please contact the institution that provided you the code to arrange payment.
If you have questions or problems while trying to submit your online payment please contact our Customer Care Center at: (850) 488-0595 or Licensure Services Unit at: (850) 245-5773.
Must I complete additional Continuing Education if I have been out of practice over 5 years when applying for a license?
For Applicants Seeking Reentry Into the Profession: Rule 64B11-3.010, F.A.C., requires any applicant seeking licensure, who has not been in active practice within the last five years, to submit documentation of 50 continuing education hours, relevant to the practice of occupational therapy. Twelve (12) of these 50 hours may be completed as home study. These hours must be completed within the year prior to licensure and verification must be submitted before a license can be issued.
It is not required but strongly advised to take a Florida Board approved Laws and Rules course as a part of the 50 re-entry continuing education hours.
Section 456.013(1)(a), Florida Statutes does not allow for an extension. An incomplete application is only valid for one year. After an application expires you must reapply to pursue licensure.
We encourage you to send as much information as possible, as soon as possible to help expedite your licensure process. We prefer that you email supporting documentation to: email@example.com or you may UPLOAD your documents via our Online Services when you login to your account; or you may mail documents to: Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C-05, Tallahassee, FL 32399-3255. Please be sure to include your file number and complete name as entered on your application with all correspondence.
All convictions, guilty pleas, and nolo contendere pleas must be reported, except for minor traffic violations not related to the use of drugs or alcohol. This includes misdemeanors, felonies, “driving while intoxicated (DWI)” and “driving under the influence (DUI).” Crimes must be reported even if they are a suspended imposition of sentence. All prior disciplinary action against any other professional licenses must be reported, whether it occurred in Florida or another state or territory.
Each application is evaluated individually. The board considers the nature, severity, and how recent the offenses, as well as rehabilitation and other factors. The board cannot make a determination for approval or denial of licensure without evaluating the entire application and supporting documentation. Please refer to the Licensing Requirements section regarding OT applicants with “Yes” answers to previous Personal, Criminal or Disciplinary History.
“Yes” answers to previous Personal, Criminal or Disciplinary History.
Do I have to report charges if I completed a period of probation and the charges were dismissed or closed?
Yes. Offenses must be reported to the board even if you received a suspended imposition of sentence and the record is now considered closed.
What type of documentation do I need to submit in support of my application if I have a prior criminal record or licensure discipline?
- If you have a criminal record, you must submit official court documents related to your criminal record, showing the date(s) and circumstance(s) surrounding your arrest(s)/conviction(s), sections of the law violated, and disposition of the case(s). Documents would normally consist of a complaint or indictment, a judgment, a docket sheet, or other documents showing disposition of your case. Some courts refer to these documents as an order of probation.
- If you have received discipline against any license that you have held, you must submit copies of the documents related to the disciplinary action taken.
- You must submit a detailed description of circumstances surrounding your criminal record or disciplinary action.
Yes, please visit our website at: http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/latest-laws/index.html NOTE: The information on this page is about felony convictions that prohibit licensure, including controlled substances offenses, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid fraud, etc.
For more information on offenses that may prevent you from obtaining a medical license, see statutes and rules below:
– s. 456, F.S. (health professions and occupations)
– s. 458, F.S. (medical practice)
– s. 766.301 through 766.316, F.S. (medical malpractice and related matters)
Our deadline to complete an initial review and send you notification about the status of your application is within 30 days after we receive it. Processing times of applications vary dependent upon current work loads. However, most initial reviews are completed within 1- 10 days and status notifications are sent.
By visiting your board’s licensing page. Select your profession then click on Requirements.
Mail your application and fees to:
Department of Health
Post office Box 6330
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330
The division’s call center at (850) 488-0595. We are open from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Eastern Standard Time. We’re closed on weekends and state holidays. You may email us at MedicalQualityAssurance@flhealth.gov.
You may check the status of your application via our Online Services at: www.flhealthsource.gov. PLEASE NOTE: Applicants cannot correct, add or change an application once submitted. You may upload documents, send an email with corrections or additional documentation, add money (under “Other Options”), and view the status of your application. NOTE: The status of an application does not change until an application processor reviews, and updates the application file in the Board office. The application processor will send an email update when the initial application review is completed, when new documentation is received and an application is updated. If you have uploaded documents it is best to notify your application processor by email or send an email to the Board address at: firstname.lastname@example.org. PLEASE always include your complete name as entered on your application, your application File# and/or last 4 digits of your social security number with all correspondence.
Staff has 30 days to process an application, however most applications are reviewed and a notice is sent by email to the applicant within 14 days.
Yes. You may call (850) 488-0595, the Call Center, designed for this purpose and ask an operator to give you the status of your application. Status information regarding your file will be mailed periodically.
I failed the exam and I am reapplying to NBCOT to sit for the exam again. Must I request and pay NBCOT to send my scores again to Florida?
Yes. If you do not pay NBCOT to send your scores each time you apply, we will not receive them. If you pay NBCOT to send your scores we will receive them electronically, and complete licensure usually the day scores are released. Please note, you may wait until after you receive your successful exam results and send us your NBCOT Certification number. We will attempt to verify your certification online on NBCOT’s “Verify My credentials” site. If we are able to verify we can process your licensure. Note: Receipt of the scores electronically, is usually a faster process. It is your responsibility to make sure we receive your successful score or your NBCOT Certification number to verify and complete your licensure, prior to your file expiration date.
No, if you successfully pass the next examination it is possible your application is still in pending examination scores status and may be valid to process your licensure. Your application is valid for one year following the Board’s approval.
We prefer that you email supporting documentation to: email@example.com or you may UPLOAD your documents via our Online Services when you login to your account; or you may mail documents to: Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C-05, Tallahassee, FL 32399-3255. Please be sure to include your file number and complete name as entered on your application with all correspondence.
Your license number will be issued within five to seven business days after verification that you have met all of the requirements for licensure. Please allow ample time for mail delivery to receive your printed copy.