Licensee and Renewal FAQs
IF you were licensed in the first half of the biennium (on or after 03/01/2017 – 02/28/2018)
This is a second or subsequent renewal, you are required to complete and confirm in CE Broker, 26 contact hours of approved continuing education to renew. The 26 hours must include:
- Two (2) hours of Prevention of Medical Errors education required by section 456.013(7), Florida Statutes, given by an FL OT board approved provider
- Two (2) hours of a Laws and Rules education course as required in Rule Chapter 64B11-5.001, Florida Administrative Code, given by an FL OT board approved provider
- A minimum of 14 “live” CE hours.
NOTE: A minimum of 14 “live” CE hours are required if you take 12 hours of Home Study CE. Home Study hours are not required, only “limited” to 12 hours. You can take all 26 CE hours as “live” hours, if you wish, or as online “live interactive” courses (in real-time). Interactive courses must allow the opportunity for interaction with presenter/host.
IF THIS IS YOUR FIRST RENEWAL and you were licensed in the second half of the biennium (on or after 03/01/2018) you are exempt the 26 hours requirement and must only complete 3 contact hours of approved continuing education as stated:
- two (2) hours of Prevention of Medical Errors education required by section 456.013(7), Florida Statutes, given by an FL OT board approved provider, and
- one (1) hour of HIV/AIDS education as required by section 456.033, Florida Statutes.
Note: If you hold a license in Florida, 26 hours of continuing education and a $60 renewal fee is required for each licensure biennium. If licensure is not renewed timely, additional delinquent fees and continuing education hours may apply. You may choose the following Renewal Options regarding your licensure IF your license is currently in a Clear/Active status. IF your license is in a Delinquent or Inactive status, you will need to contact the Customer Care Center (850) 488-0595 or email the Board office at: firstname.lastname@example.org for specific requirements, regarding the additional continuing education and fees required.
– Renew Clear/Active. Complete and confirm 26 continuing education hours in CE Broker (www.CEBroker.com) and submit a $60 renewal fee. Note: Continuing education hours must include 2 hours of a Florida OT Board approved Laws and Rules course, 2 hours Florida OT Board approved Medical Errors course, and a minimum of 14 “live” interactive hours (in real-time). Hours may be completed with interactive online courses. Interactive courses must allow the opportunity for interaction with presenter/host. Visit: www.flhealthsource.gov to complete this transaction online and receive licensure renewal confirmation.
– Renew Clear/Inactive: Renew your license into an Inactive status, by submitting a $60 renewal fee and selecting Clear/ Inactive status. This status will “hold” a license for later reactivation, however, is not intended for a long-term status. Because you choose not to work in Florida, does not mean your license must be in an Inactive status. This is not the purpose for this status. Continuing education requirements and renewal fees continue to accrue for the biennial period you renewed Inactive and for each licensure biennial period in which the license remains in an Inactive status. To Reactivate from the Inactive status, a $100 reactivation fee, along with any delinquent renewal fees, and if you choose to reactivate outside of a renewal window, a $50 change of status fee is required. This is not a status valid to work in Florida. It is unlawful to practice your profession in Florida with an Inactive status license.
– Renew Retired. Submit a Retired fee of $50 and request/select Retired. You may renew a Retired license at any time by paying a $60 renewal fee and submit proof of 26 hours of continuing education for the biennial period you renewed into a Retired status and for each licensure biennial period in which the licensee remained in a Retired status. If you choose to renew outside of a renewal period, an additional $50 change of status fee is required. This is not a status valid to work in Florida. It is unlawful to practice your profession in Florida on a Retired status license.
– Not Renew or change licensure status. You may choose to not do anything at this time, and your license will go into a Delinquent Status after the renewal deadline. (NOTE: this is not a derogatory status, only means your license has not been renewed). This is not a status valid to work in Florida. It is unlawful to practice your profession in Florida on a delinquent license. To renew a delinquent license, you will be required to complete the CE requirements and submit a $55 delinquent fee, along with the past renewal fee $60 ($115), if submitted prior to the next renewal deadline. After a second non-renewed biennium period, the license will go into a Null and Void status. A Null and Void license cannot be renewed or reactivated.
– Voluntarily Relinquish. You may choose to send in a written request to voluntarily relinquish your license to the Board email address at: email@example.com stating your request is not due to any disciplinary reasons. Should you ever desire to work and need another license in Florida you would be required to re-apply for licensure.
Yes, a licensee who is the spouse of a member of the Armed Forces of the United States is exempt from all licensure renewal provisions for any period of time in which the licensee is absent from the State of Florida due to the spouse’s duties with the Armed Forces. The licensee must document the absence and submit copies of the spouse’s military orders/status to the Board, per Board Rule 64B11-5.0065, F.A.C.
- Must submit a request to be placed in Military/ Active status with official military orders. If orders do not include spouse in written content, a marriage certificate must also be submitted with the request.
Online renewal does not change your renewal expiration date. You are still required to submit a renewal no later than midnight on the date the license is scheduled to expire
You will receive a confirmation message following a successful renewal. You are encouraged to print this message for your records.
Can I give my credit card information over the phone or by mail to renew my license if I do not want to use my card on the Internet?
No. The e-Renewal web site is a secure site and does not retain complete credit card information after the data is processed.
Why does my computer screen jump back to a previous page after I have already entered the data on the previous page and it does not submit my renewal request?
For Internet Explorer users, the security setting must be set to medium and cookies must be enabled. To set Internet Explorer to medium security follow the instructions below:
- Open Internet Explorer and select ‘Tools’ from the top menu bar.
- Select ‘Internet Options’ from the drop down list.
- Once the ‘Internet Options’ window appears, select the ‘Security’ tab.
- From the ‘Security’ tab window click on/select ‘Medium’.
- To enable cookies, use the same ‘Internet Options’ window and select the ‘Advanced’ tab.
- From the ‘Advanced’ tab window, press the down arrow on your keyboard until the words ‘Always Accept Cookies’ are highlighted and use the scroll bar and click on/select ‘Always Accept Cookies’. Click ‘Apply’ and retry using the e-Renewal system.
No. If you receive confirmation of a successful renewal, submission of the renewal application is not necessary.
If you have any questions about renewing your license, call (850) 488-0595. Our customer service staff is available to assist you Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Eastern Time. (Excluding state holidays)
The Renew License link is only activated for practitioners who are in renewal. Renewal windows are opened approximately 90 days prior to the renewal deadline. If you believe your license is in renewal and you do not have access to the online renewal system, please email the Department at MQALicensureServices@flhealth.gov or call (850) 488-0595. Our Licensure Support Services staff is available to assist you Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Eastern Time.
When you renew your license online, you will receive immediate confirmation that your renewal was received and processed successfully. In addition, online renewal allows you to use American Express, VISA, MasterCard or Discover to pay.
The e-Renewal system will not allow you to change your status online. If you need to change your license status, you will be required to mail your renewal application and fee to the department for processing.
The department will mail a renewal notification to your last known address at least 90 days prior to the expiration of your license. Your license also indicates the date it will expire. All OT and OTA licenses expire on February 28, of each odd year. (2017, 2019, etc.)
There are many reasons why credit card information may not be accepted. Some suggestions for checking credit card data input are listed below. If you find that all data is complete and correct, but the card is still not accepted, try a different card.
- Be sure that you do not use any hyphens, “-“, underlines, “_”, or spaces when you type your credit card number.
- Do not type text in the space provided for your credit card type, be sure that you click on/select your credit card type from the drop down list of acceptable credit cards.
- Be sure to state the credit card expiration date correctly, with the slash and without spaces. An example of a month, year expiration would be: 09/03
- There is no comparison between the name on your license and the credit card name. When typing the name on the credit card, be sure that you type it just as it appears on the card that was used to complete the other credit card information.
- Be sure that all credit card data fields are completed.
Yes. After you have successfully logged in, you can modify your account id by selecting Update Login located on the side navigational menu.
Please note that Account Id and Password are case-sensitive. You must enter the values exactly as they were provided. Use the “Shift” key to capitalize letters, not the “Caps Lock” key.
Yes. After you have successfully logged in, you can modify your password by selecting Update Login located on the side navigational menu.
At the following address:
Department of Health
MQA Agency Clerk’s Office
4052 Bald Cypress Way
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3251
I just got my license last year, am I required to renew and take 26 hours of continuing education, when I’ve had my license less than a year?
Those persons certified for licensure in the second half of a biennium, on or after March 1st of even years (3/1/2018, 3/1/2020, 3/1/2022…) are exempt from the total 26 hours required continuing education requirements for that biennium, except for the mandatory two (2) hours prevention of medical errors course requirement, and the one (1) hour of HIV/AIDS education given by Board approved providers.
A licensure biennium is the twenty-four month period between expiration dates. All occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants, and occupational therapy continuing education provider licenses expire on February 28 of every odd year. (2019, 2021, etc …) It is during this time period that the continuing education requirements must be met for each renewal cycle.
Licenses for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistants expire on February 28th of every odd year. Please note that at the time of initial licensure, and during each biennial licensure renewal thereafter, the licensure expiration date will print on the hard copy of the license issued by the Department of Health. The expiration date may also be viewed on the Department’s licensure verification page at anytime.
All OT and OTA licenses expire on February 28, of each odd year. (2019, 2021, etc.)
The renewal cycle starts 120 days prior to the expiration date of a license and ends on the expiration date. It is during this time that you receive your renewal notice and when licensees begin sending in their renewal notices and fees to renew the license for the next biennium. It is your responsibility to notify the department of a change of address.
It takes approximately 1-3 weeks to process a renewal. If you wait until the end of the renewal cycle to mail your renewal notice and fee, you will not be current on the licensure computer system until the renewal is processed. There may be a period of time that your license will be in delinquent status. Your place of employment may not allow you to work during this interim period; consequently, it is recommended that you mail your renewal in no later than 30 days from the expiration date.
The department will mail a renewal notification to your last known address at least 90 days prior to the expiration of your license. It is the responsibility of the licensee to make sure he or she renews on time. Your license expiration date is printed on your license. If you do not get a notice, chances are that your address is not current in the licensure system. Address changes can be completed by you online, or submitted to the Department online on the website, by email, or by mailing a request. MQA On-line Services account ID and passwords can be found directly on your renewal notice. If you do not receive a renewal notice, it is best that you go online and register in our new online service system where you can acquire a new account ID and password and change your address in the system, to become familiar prior to the upcoming renewal. However, the Department can provide you with your account ID and password over the telephone, or by email if a request is sent online from the website.Should you need assistance you may contact the Customer Contact Center
Should you need assistance you may contact the Customer Contact Center at: (850) 488-0595 and someone will assist you, Or you may email at: MedicalQualityAssurance@doh.state.fl.us, Blank renewal forms may also be printed from the website. PLEASE NOTE: There is no grace period after the license expiration date. Failure to renew by the expiration date will cause the license to become delinquent. You will not be able to renew your license if your continuing education requirements are not Completed in CE Broker Prior to processing your Renewal. It is unlawful to practice your profession in Florida on a delinquent license.
Failure by a delinquent licensee to become active or inactive before the expiration date of the current licensure cycle renders the license null and void without any further action by the board or the department. Any subsequent licensure shall be as a result of applying for and meeting all requirements for initial licensure.
Failure to renew by the expiration date will cause the license to become delinquent. It is unlawful to practice your profession in Florida on a delinquent license. To renew a delinquent license, you must submit the renewal fee plus the delinquency fee and complete required continuing education hours online in CE Broker at www.cebroker.com. You may complete your renewal online at: www.flhealthsource.gov
All licensees accrue continuing education requirements, whether active or inactive. You can renew without having the continuing education requirements by requesting to put your license in an Inactive status and pay the $60 renewal fee. You may even continue to renew inactive at subsequent renewals. However, understand the main advantage to placing a license in inactive status is to keep your license from becoming delinquent or null and void for non-renewal because you have not completed the required continuing education hours. However, when you decide to reactivate to a Clear/Active status you must complete and submit proof of all continuing education hours for each biennium, in which the license was in an inactive status, and pay the $100 reactivation fee and appropriate $50 change of status fee if outside of a renewal window. Because you choose not to work in Florida, does not mean your license must be in an Inactive status. See FAQ: What are my Renewal options?
According to Chapter 64B11-5.001(5) HIV/AIDS, Licensees must take one hour of HIV/AIDS education no later than their first renewal. HIV/AIDS courses approved by any Board within the Division of Medical Quality Assurance of the Department of Health is acceptable for this requirement. There is no requirement to take repeat HIV/AIDS courses for subsequent renewals.
You must submit a request to place your license in "retired" status and pay a one-time fee of $50.00 plus the $5 unlicensed activity fee, for a total fee of $55. The Board will no longer contact you regarding your license. Retired status does not allow you to continue providing therapy.
You must submit a written request to convert your retired license to an active status. To reactivate the license you must pay the same amount as the renewal fee $60 for an active status licensee for each biennial licensure period in which the licensee was in retired status. You must also submit proof of completing 26 hours of CE, in CE Broker (www.CEBroker.com) including the statutory mandated courses (2 hours laws and rules and 2 hours medical errors) for each biennium the license was in a retired status.
You must renew your license every two years and pay the current renewal fee. The Board will continue to contact you regarding renewals. Inactive status does not allow you to continue providing therapy. However, all licensees accrue continuing education requirements, in an and and inactive status. You may continue to renew inactive without having to submit continuing education requirements, however, when you choose to reactivate to an active status you must complete and submit proof of all continuing education (26 hours), for EACH renewal biennium you have been inactive, and pay the $50 change of status fee and $100 reactivation fee.
During an open renewal period, if your license is in a Clear/Inactive status, and you wish to reactivate to a Clear/Active status you must pay a $160 ($100 reactivation fee+ $60 Renewal fee) and complete online in CE Broker, the required 26 hours of continuing education for the biennial period you changed your status to Inactive and for each biennium, in which the license has been in an Inactive status. If you are reactivating your license outside of a renewal period, an additional $50 change of status fee is required.
If your license is in a Delinquent/Active or Delinquent/Inactive status, additional delinquent fees will apply. You will need to contact the Customer Care Center (850) 488-0595 or email the Board office at: firstname.lastname@example.org for specific requirements.
Reactivation transactions may not be completed in the online Renewal portal. These fees and changes must be completed by mail.
The department will mail a renewal notification to your last known address at least 90 days prior to the expiration of your license. Your license also indicates the date it will expire.
Name changes require legal documentation showing the name change. To change your name, please submit supporting documents, which must be one of the following:
- A copy of a state issued marriage license that includes the original signature and seal from the clerk of the court.
- A divorce decree restoring your maiden name.
- A court order showing the name change (adoption, legal name change, federal identity change).
- A copy of a certificate of naturalization or H1B Employment Visa (Note: Foreign applicants and/or licensees may not have state issued documents)
Any one of these will be accepted unless the department has a question about the authenticity of the document.
If you wish to receive a new license that reflects the name change, you must request a duplicate license. Mail your $25.00 payment request to:
Division of Medical Quality Assurance
Licensure Support Services
P.O. Box 6320
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6320
For requests by mail, please include your full name as it appears on your license, profession, license number, your new name, your date of birth, the last four digits of your social security number, and your signature. Please submit your name change along with supporting document(s) 5-7 business days to allow processing if you need to renew online.
If you do not require a new license to reflect your new name, you may submit your request online or by mail along with legible supporting document(s) to one of the following:
- Log onto your MQA Online Services Portal account , select “Request Name Change” from the “Manage My License” dropdown menu
- Mailing address – DOH, Division of Medical Quality Assurance, Post Office Box 6320, Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6320